Awards and Scholarships

Louisiana Council of ENA recognizes nurses across the state for excellence in practice, leadership, education and service through annual award recognitions and educational scholarships. Award recipients are selected from peer nominations and scholarship recipients self-nominate. 

Award recognitions are solicited from Louisiana ENA members each spring with a July 1st deadline. Awards are announced annually at the LENA education conferences. Individuals may not nominate themselves.

Scholarship applications share the July 1st deadline and require a letter of good standing from applicant’s current education program. Individuals self-apply for scholarships and all current ENA members may apply.

The nominating form is emailed to LENA membership and available for download from the LENA website. Awards are announced annually at the LENA education conferences. Individuals may not nominate themselves.

LENA Annual Awards

Nursing Practice Award – This award honors a nurse who exemplifies outstanding nursing practice as demonstrated through clinical skills, care and compassion.

Patient Champion Award – This award honors an emergency department nurse who advocates actively for patients and their families and inspires other team members to inform, educate, and advocate for “Safe Practice, Safe Care”.

Leadership Award – This award honors a nurse who has consistently provided exceptional leadership skills in emergency nursing. This nurse makes significant contributions to the profession and is an example to all emergency nurses.

Nursing Mentor Award – This award recognizes a nurse who has made significant contributions to the education of colleagues, nursing students, EMS personnel, patients/families, and/or the community.

Louisiana ENA Award Nominating Form

Click here for Link to Award Nomination

Special Recognitions 

Below awards are offered through LENA on an as needed basis and require additional documentation. If you feel there is a candidate that qualifies for the criteria in the awards listed below, please submit the nominating application and additional information detailed below.

Mae Webb Excellence in Emergency Nursing Lifetime Achievement Award - Named in honor of Louisiana’s ENA founder. This award honors a nurse whose career reflects dedicated service, accomplishments and/or contributions to emergency nursing. The special significance of the Lifetime Achievement Award is the enduring nature of the nurse’s achievements and that the accomplishments and/or contributions will have value to emergency nursing beyond the recipient’s lifetime.
In addition to the award nominating form, submit 2 letters of support by 2 (two) current ENA members and the nominee’s vitae.

Distinguished Service Award – This award honors a member of the LA ENA Board of Directors who for their time, commitment, support and inspiration to other board members and members of ENA and Emergency Nurses.

In addition to the nominating form, submit a letter of support signed by 2 (two) current ENA members.

Injury Prevention Advocate Award – This award honors an active ENA Injury Prevention volunteer who has served as a leader in the development and promotion of injury prevention programs in Louisiana. In addition to the nominating form, submit a letter of support signed by 2 (two) current LENA members.

Special Recognition Award – This award honors an Emergency Department Nurse who performs outstanding service in regards to emergency care. It offers recognition, awareness and remembrance for either volunteered time during a disaster or an extra service performed for a patient, family, other emergency departments etc.

In addition to the nominating form, submit a letter of support signed by 2 (two) current LENA members.

Louisiana ENA Scholarship Application

Click here for link to Scholarship Application

Keith Richard Emergency Nurse Advanced Nursing Practice Scholarship

This $500.00 scholarship honors the memory of Keith Richard. Applicants should be a Louisiana ENA member who is pursuing an advanced degree with a focus on emergency nursing.

Keith Richard was ED Director at Opelousas General Health System for several years in the 1990’s. Keith obtained a master’s degree and worked as a nurse practitioner in emergency medicine and area health clinics. He is best remembered for his quick wit and reminding all that it was a privilege to be an emergency nurse! His son, Dr. Charles Richard, is a board-certified emergency medicine physician who practices in the Lafayette area.

Tim Butcher Educational Scholarship

This $500.00 scholarship honors the memory of Tim Butcher. Applicants should be a Louisiana ENA member who is in pursuit of advancing their education with a Baccalaureate degree or higher, preferably with a focus on nursing education.

Tim Butcher was known nationwide as a “boots on the ground” expert on emergency preparedness with special emphasis on Haz-Mat and blast injuries. His passion for learning eventually led him to accept the position of Director of Disaster Management at University Hospital, where he worked before and during Hurricane Katrina. Tim’s vast amount of preparation and personal concern were instrumental in saving lives at Charity and University Hospitals in New Orleans during Hurricane

After Katrina Tim accepted a teaching position with the Education Department at University Medical Center (UMC) in Lafayette. In 2007 he was recognized by UMC for his professionalism, mentoring and caring. He was also awarded the 2007 Leadership Award by the Louisiana Emergency Nurses Association and honored by the American Meteorological Society.

Whether the connection was personal or professional, Tim is remembered for his intelligence, humor and joie de vivre.

See Below for past annual awards and scholarship winners